Skip to content

Run off Produces Delegates

The run off for the 2 female delagate slots in the 7th congressional district produced the final 2 delegates taking the total district level total to 42.

Congrats to Lexi Thompson & Evia Hodge.

40 of 42 DNC Delegate Winners Announced;
7th District Tie Forces May 19 Run-off Vote

CharlotteThe Louisiana Democratic Party (LDP) today announced 40 of the 42 winners in the Democratic National Convention Congressional District delegate elections that were held across the state on Saturday, May 5. A three-way tie for two seats in the 7th Congressional District will force a run-off.

Louisiana Democratic Party Chair Karen Carter Peterson announced the results after the party completed the process of counting the paper ballots used in Saturday’s election. Complete results are listed on the Louisiana Democratic Party website here.

Democrats voted to elect delegates from each of Louisiana’s current seven congressional districts. Those 42 delegates will comprise the majority of the Louisiana delegation that will represent state Democrats at the party’s national convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, in September. In addition, four gender specific alternate delegates were also elected from the First (male), Second (female), Third (male), and Fourth (female) districts, as established in the LDP’s delegate selection rules.

The tie was produced in voting for the three female delegate slots in the 7th District. Myra Bennett was the top vote getter among four candidates and was elected. However, Sally O. Donlon, Evia Hodge, and Lexi Thompson each received the same number of votes, forcing a run-off election to among them to fill the two female delegate positions that remain from the 7th District.

The 7th District run-off election will be held on May 19 at polling places to be announced by the party later this week.

The convention will run September 3-6, and will nominate President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden to carry the party’s banner in the November 6 general election.

“I thank all of those who stood as candidates to serve as delegates,” Chair Peterson said. “Your commitment and dedication to our party and our President now bode well for us in the fall. There will be other opportunities to work to advance our cause in the weeks and months ahead. I ask that you remain engaged in the process throughout this election cycle.

“To those of you who were elected, I look forward to seeing you in Charlotte in September — and on the campaign trail working for the President’s re-election,” Chair Peterson concluded.

The DNC delegates and alternates elected on Saturday are listed by congressional district:

First Congressional District

Female Delegates

Belinda Brown

Elsie Palmer Burkhalter

Brenda “Ann” Palme

Male Delegates

Jessie Lee Philips

T.J. Smith, Jr.

Male Alternate:  Patrick L. Miller

Second Congressional District

Female Delegates

Diana E. Bajoie

Candace N. Newell

DeShannon Cobb Russell

Female Alternate:  Cynthia Hedge-Morrell

Male Delegates

Jay H. Banks

Troy “C” Carter

Mark D. Spears, Jr.

Third Congressional District

Female Delegates

Debbie S. Craighead

Dr. Camalyn Gaines

Judy Brignac Songy

Male Delegates

Matthew F. Block

Damon K. Davis

Randal L. Gaines

Male Alternate:  Wayne Thibodeaux

Fourth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Frankie Mae Evans

Barbara Norton

Daryl Joy Walters

Female Alternate:  Shawanda Jackson

Male Delegates

Lynn D. Cawthorne

Kenneth R. Epperson, Sr.

Patrick C. Williams

Fifth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Billye Burns

Katrina R. Jackson

Mary Kincade

Male Delegates

Charles Kincade

Rodney McFarland, Sr.

Ronnie Lamar Traylor

Sixth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Regina A. Barrow

Cassandra Butler

Pat Haynes Smith

Male Delegates

Gideon T. Carter, III

Sherman G. Ruth

Alfred C. Williams

W.T. Winfield

Seventh Congressional District

Female Delegates

Myra Wilburn Bennett

May 19th Runoff Candidates

Sally O. Donlon

Evia Hodge

Lexi Thompson

Male Delegates

Charles Ray Bennett

Davante Lewis

Jonald J. Walker, III

For Full Results on the election including vote counts for all candidates Click Here.