Skip to content

Louisiana DNC Delegation Fired Up and Ready to Go to Charlotte!

2012-Louisiana-DNC-Delegation-Photo-6-2-12The Democratic State Central Committee (DSCC)of the Louisiana Democratic Party (LDP) on Saturday elected the 22 final members (plus one alternate) to its delegation that will represent the state at the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina, in September.

CharlotteLouisiana Democratic Party Chairwoman Karen Carter Peterson was elected to lead the delegation when it met immediately after the completion of the DSCC meeting.

“I want to first congratulate all of the great Democrats who offered themselves for election in this process,” Chairwoman Peterson said. “The number of people who wanted to be delegates to this convention is powerful testimony to the bright future that our party has due to the passion for our party that these candidates demonstrated. We were all winners in this process.”

“To those fortunate enough to be selected to represent all Louisiana Democrats in Charlotte where we will launch President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden on their path towards re-election, I say that we should be both honored and humbled by the opportunity we have been given and the work that we must do,” Peterson added.

The Democratic National Convention will be held September 3-6 in Charlotte.

Eight Party Leader/Elected Official (PLEO) delegates were selected in the first round of voting, which was followed by voting for 14 At-Large delegate positions, plus one alternate.

Democrats voted to elect delegates from each of Louisiana’s current seven congressional districts.

The DNC At-Large and Party Leaders & Elected Official (PLEO) delegates elected on Saturday are:

PLEO Delegates:

Representative Wesley Bishop

Representative John Bel Edwards

Mayor Cedric Glover

Representative Marcus Hunter

Mayor Mitch Landrieu

Representative Walt Leger III

Mayor Jennifer Vidrine

Councilwoman Mary Wardsworth

At-Large Delegates:

Female Delegates

Mozella Bell

Thai Browder

Lisa Diggs

Sally Donlon

Cynthia Hedge-Morrell

Renee Lapeyrolerie

Carol LeBlanc

Gail Ledet

Dr. Cassandra Shelling

Nita Steele

Male Delegates

Sean Bruno

Kenny Garrett

Brett Jackson

David Wilburn

     At-Large Female Alternate: Brenda Hensley Smith

They join the district delegates and alternates who were elected by party members in May. Those district delegates and alternates are:

First Congressional District

Female Delegates

Belinda Brown

Elsie Palmer Burkhalter

     Brenda “Ann” Palmer

Male Delegates

Jessie Lee Philips

T.J. Smith, Jr.

     Male Alternate:  Patrick L. Miller

Second Congressional District

Female Delegates

Diana E. Bajoie

Candace N. Newell

DeShannon Cobb Russell

     Female Alternate:  Barbara R. Keller

Male Delegates

Jay H. Banks

Troy “C” Carter

Mark D. Spears, Jr.

Third Congressional District

Female Delegates

Debbie S. Craighead

Dr. Camalyn Gaines

Judy Brignac Songy

Male Delegates

Matthew F. Block

Damon K. Davis

Randal L. Gaines

Male Alternate:  Wayne Thibodeaux

Fourth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Frankie Mae Evans

Barbara Norton

Daryl Joy Walters

     Female Alternate:  Shawanda Jackson

Male Delegates

Lynn D. Cawthorne

Kenneth R. Epperson, Sr.

Patrick C. Williams

Fifth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Billye Burns

Katrina R. Jackson

Mary Kincade

Male Delegates

Charles Kincade

Rodney McFarland, Sr.

Ronnie Lamar Traylor

Sixth Congressional District

Female Delegates

Regina A. Barrow

Cassandra Butler

Pat Haynes Smith

Male Delegates

Gideon T. Carter, III

Sherman G. Ruth

Alfred C. Williams

W.T. Winfield

Seventh Congressional District

Female Delegates

Myra Wilburn Bennett

Evia Hodge

Lexi Thompson

Male Delegates

Charles Ray Bennett

Davante Lewis

Jonald J. Walker, III

This is the complete delegate list, pending final certification of the DNC.

• • • • •

Originally published: Jun 3, 2012