Skip to content

Congratulations to Democrats Returning to Seats Unopposed

BATON ROUGE – With the qualifying period officially closed as of this afternoon, 26 incumbent Democrats in the Louisiana Legislature will return to their seats unchallenged. Their work in both houses, fighting to protect funding for higher education and to restore fiscal responsibility in the face of the $1.6 billion Republican budget debacle was rewarded by the faith of the constituents in their districts— who will return them to carry on the fight in the next session.

Six Democrats will return to the state Senate unopposed, joined by twenty colleagues in the House of Representatives. The returning lawmakers include State Representatives Barbara Norton, H.E. “Gene” Reynolds, Patrick Jefferson, Katrina Jackson, Major Thibaut, Andy Anders, Kenny Cox, Jeff Hall, James Armes, Mike Danahay, H. Bernard LeBas, Jack Montoucet, Sam Jones, Jerry Gisclair, Randal Gaines, Patricia Smith, Walt Leger, Helena Moreno, Neil Abramson, and Edward “Ted” James. Returning State Senators include: J.P Morrell, Karen Carter Peterson, Yvonne Dorsey, Gary L. Smith, Eric LaFleur, and Francis Thompson.

They will rejoin the fight to put Louisiana first again with the full faith and support of the voters in their districts. Democratic leaders in both houses are eager to get back to work, and to get Louisiana back to basics.

“I congratulate all of my returning Democratic colleagues. We will enter next year’s legislative session proud to uphold the faith and support our districts have shown us,” said Sen. Karen Carter Peterson, chairwoman of the Louisiana Democratic Party. “We are grateful for the support and the confidence Louisiana families have shown in us, and we will work every day to be worthy of their trust.”