CharlotteBATON ROUGE — The 2012 Louisiana delegation to the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, NC, has been filled with the announcement of the appointments to fill the state’s seats on the convention’s standing committees.

Louisiana Democratic Party Chairwoman Karen Carter Peterson announced the following appointees to the DNC standing committees:

Rules Committee: Brenda Hensley Smith and Lester Coza Perryman, Jr.

Credentials Committee: Honorable Natalie Robottom and Steve P. Monaghan.

Platform Committee: Diana Hamilton and the Honorable Cedric Glover.

Under the Louisiana Delegate Selection plan, the President’s campaign has the right to send a list of candidates for the convention standing committees.The campaign reached out to the state party, Congressman Richmond, Senator Landrieu and to the Louisiana OFA team and presented us with this list of great Democrats. Since there was only one person per position sent to us (again per the rules), there will be no election for these positions.

Chairwoman Peterson will lead this delegation — that is as diverse as is our party — to Charlotte during the first week in September to nominate President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden for a second term in office.

Super Delegates named to the delegation are:

  • Senator Karen Carter Peterson
  • Shane Riddle
  • Senator Mary Landrieu
  • Congressman Cedric Richmond
  • John Ales
  • Deborah Langhoff
  • Ben Jeffers

They join the Part Leaders/Elected Officials delegates elected by the State Central Committee:

  • Representative Wesley Bishop
  • Representative John Bel Edwards
  • Mayor Cedric Glover
  • Representative Marcus Hunter
  • Mayor Mitch Landrieu
  • Representative Walt Leger III
  • Mayor Jennifer Vidrine
  • Mary Wardsworth

At-Large Delegates, also elected by the State Central Committee, are:

Female Delegates

  • Mozella Bell
  • Thai Browder
  • Lisa Diggs
  • Sally Donlon
  • Councilwoman Cynthia Hedge-Morrell
  • Renee Lapeyrolerie
  • Carol LeBlanc
  • Gail Ledet
  • Dr. Cassandra Shelling
  • Nita Steele

Male Delegates

  • Sean Bruno
  • Kenny Garrett
  • Brett Jackson
  • David Wilburn

At-Large Female Alternate: Brenda Hensley Smith

They join the district delegates and alternates who were elected by party members in May. Those district delegates and alternates are:


Female Delegates

  • Belinda Brown
  • Elsie Palmer Burkhalter
  • Brenda “Ann” Palmer

Male Delegates

  • Jessie Lee Philips
  • T.J. Smith, Jr.
  • Male Alternate: Patrick L. Miller


Female Delegates

  • Honorable Diana E. Bajoie
  • Candace N. Newell
  • DeShannon Cobb Russell
  • Female Alternate: Barbara R. Keller

Male Delegates

  • Jay H. Banks
  • Troy “C” Carter
  • Mark D. Spears, Jr.


Female Delegates

  • Debbie S. Craighead
  • Dr. Camalyn Gaines
  • Judy Brignac Songy

Male Delegates

  • Matthew F. Block
  • Damon K. Davis
  • Representative Randal L. Gaines
  • Male Alternate: Wayne Thibodeaux


Female Delegates

  • Frankie Mae Evans
  • Representative Barbara Norton
  • Daryl Joy Walters
  • Female Alternate: Shawanda Jackson

Male Delegates

  • Lynn D. Cawthorne
  • Kenneth R. Epperson, Sr.
  • Patrick C. Williams


Female Delegates

  • Billye Burns
  • Representative Katrina R. Jackson
  • Mary Kincade

Male Delegates

  • Charles Kincade
  • Rodney McFarland, Sr.
  • Ronnie Lamar Traylor


Female Delegates

  • Representative Regina A. Barrow
  • Cassandra Butler
  • Representative Pat Haynes Smith

Male Delegates

  • Gideon T. Carter, III
  • Sherman G. Ruth
  • Alfred C. Williams
  • W.T. Winfield


Female Delegates

  • Myra Wilburn Bennett
  • Evia Hodge
  • Lexi Thompson

Male Delegates

  • Charles Ray Bennett
  • Davante Lewis
  • Jonald J. Walker, III

• • • • •

Originally published: June 14, 2012