September 12, 2020
Contact: Allyson Sanders

Democratic State Central Committee Elects New Officers and Louisiana Democratic Party Leadership

BATON ROUGE, LA – Saturday, Louisiana’s Democratic State Central Committee met virtually to hold its reorganization meeting and elect new officers and leadership to the Louisiana Democratic Party.

“While it’s bittersweet to leave my role as Chair after eight years, I’m optimistic about the future of our state and the Louisiana Democratic Party,” Sen. Karen Carter Peterson, outgoing Chair of the Louisiana Democratic Party said. “I’m proud of what we’ve accomplished together over the years and excited to see our new officers bring the party to greater heights.”

DSCC members elected the following officers for the 2020-2024 term:

Chair: Katie Bernhardt was elected for a first term as Chair. 

First Vice Chair: C. Travis Johnson was elected as First Vice Chair. 

Second Vice Chair: Leah Cullins was elected as Second Vice Chair. 

Third Vice Chair: Jason Hughes was elected as Third Vice Chair.

Fourth Vice Chair: Daniel Banguel was elected as Fourth Vice Chair.

Vice Chair of Elected Officials: Sen. Joseph Bouie was elected as Vice Chair of Elected Officials.

Treasurer: Sean Bruno was elected for a third term as Treasurer.

Secretary: R.J. Johnson was elected as Secretary.

Clerk: Lisa Diggs was elected as Clerk. 

Parliamentarian: Derrick Shepherd was elected as Parliamentarian. 

DNC Committeemembers: Diana Bajoie and Rep. Randal Gaines were elected for x term as a Louisiana Committeemember to the Democratic National Committee.